What to Expect When You are Not Expecting

My adventure of getting pregnant over 35 starting with clomid

THO TKO June 8, 2010

All this baby growing is making me tired!  According to my iPhone app Sprout our little one(s) is looking like a little peanut and the size of a seed- but sure does take a lot of my energy.  We have been getting some good news as of late.  I had my Drs appointment yesterday and has some new learnings. Apparently PLs (pregnant ladies)  of summer are pale riders.   I am not going to lie I am a girl who loves her tan.    I stopped outdoor tanning years ago when work got in the way coupled with my fear of wrinkles and skin cancer.  Much like my hair which used to be naturally blond, I also have to get my tan from a bottle.   I spray tan or lotion whatever is most convenient.  I assumed that I would have to forgo the spray tan but thought I would be able to use the lotion.  Not the case.  My practitioner said to bring the bottle with me when I meet with DR in two weeks but that I shouldn’t use it now while the baby’s critical organs are forming.   She also suggested I take some sun naturally.  Dare I actually lay out this weekend?   Here is hoping the weather permits!  I also learned that DHA is not in all pre-natal vitamins.  If you aren’t down with DHA it is an omega 3 fatty acid that is reported to help with healthy organ development.   The original vitamin I was taking didn’t have it so we elected to switch.  To each his own on this but that is the way we are going.

So can we discuss my constant THO?  Literally the lights are always on!  It is twenty for seven and the girls are always tender.  It actually hurts not to wear a bra.  It is like my boobs have a lead balloon inside.   My mammary glands are in over drive!  Somehow despite this discomfort I am always tired and I fall asleep the second my head hits the pillow.  Then I wake up in the morning and literally am so light headed I almost pass out by the time I get out of the shower.  A pregnant TKO before I even leave the house.  I put a package of Organic trail mix on my night stand and if I eat a small handful it seriously helps.  I am always amazed at how a little bit can help so much.  We received more good news today our HCG level is 1600 and in the words of the practitioner we are very pregnant!  Super exciting! Now we just need to figure out when and who to tell.

 

Leave a Reply

