What to Expect When You are Not Expecting

My adventure of getting pregnant over 35 starting with clomid

Mr. Mister July 6, 2010

Hopefully everyone had a great holiday weekend.  Ours was long and relaxing much more low key than previous years but enjoyable!  I am not going to lie- I was really missing my wine this weekend.  Nothing is more enjoyable than a nice dinner and glass of wine al fresco in Chicago.   I have to say I am not in love with the pregnancy experience so far.   I am now officially fascinated by surrogates.   Who would want to do this without the reward of having a baby?   It is beyond me.   I have been feeling pretty good lately, just the normal tired and occasional naush but nothing too severe so I shouldn’t really complain.   I just feel like my mid section is bloated and I am feeling like my bowels are out of whack.   I am not convinced this is entirely pregnancy related since I had a burger and fries for dinner last night.  It is hard to explain but it doesn’t feel good.  My iphone tells me that my baby is the size of a prune.  Is this a subliminal message that I should eat one? Prunes are so 1987.  I’ll stick with salads, kiwi, and watermelon thank you very much!

Since I am now in week ten and for the last week have had minimal morning sickness I want to take a moment to discuss a few things.   Have any of you been given books by your friends?   If you are like me you have and have been excited to read them in hopes preparing yourself for what is to come or find solutions for what is currently ailing you.   I have been reading a lot and you know I live for google.   What I find is that most of the books contain the same information just packaged differently.  I also have found that they are lacking in a lot of information.  Specifically with regards to diet and nutrition, this is perplexing to me because I feel like subtle changes had a huge effect on  my morning sickness.  Not one of the books or resources I have read mentions anything about increasing your water intake which I can say without a doubt has been my number one cure.  Few mention taking supplements of any kind and I have yet to find a book that tells you the benefits of eating specific fruits and vegetables.   I have gone to non-pregnancy sites to find this information and usually do additional research.

Allegedly the ninth and tenth week- which I am in is when morning sickness is supposed to peak.  Not the case for me- the day I started drinking the water is the day things changed.  Any time I feel the slightest twinge of the sickness creeping in; I eat something and drink a lot of water.  Thank you doctor for this piece of advice it has changed my life.   I could always have more fruits and veggies but they are a part of my diet.  French Fries are veggies right?   Water is my real BFF.  Gone are my fugly seabands and nights in the fetal position.  It’s a miracle I tell you a miracle.  Now let’s talk about another miracle of nature- it’s a hairy situation I must confess…I am growing a mustache!  Just call me Mr. Pregnant lady.   Stachy over here.   Seriously it is bad.   Luckily all of my hair is light- I can’t even imagine what I would look like if it was dark.  Oh the horror!  I am getting it waxed tonight and not in the slightest bit excited for this.   I have read (not in any of my useless books) but online that waxing is even more   painful when pregnant. I’ll keep you posted on this important piece of information.   Let’s not even get started on my vagine!  If I let that baby go it would be welcome to the jungle.  I am going to stick to razor trimming there while I can see it – but after OMG I can’t become Barabara Bush if you know what I mean.  Yikes I am going to have to return to the bikini wax.  How  pregnant sexy!

 

One Response to “Mr. Mister”

  1. Hang in there, things get good in the second trimester, especially once you feel the baby start moving! I’m 9 weeks pregnant with #2 and it’s worse the second time around. The pregnancy books are pretty useless, except to tell you what’s going on with the baby. I too wore the Seabands. Ugly yes, but effective! I’ll have to try drinking more water and see if that helps. As for the “jungle”, I had my husband trim it when I couldn’t see anymore!


Leave a Reply

