What to Expect When You are Not Expecting

My adventure of getting pregnant over 35 starting with clomid

Can I register for a Taser? July 16, 2010

OMG was last night eventful!  Yesterday is one for the books.   Hubby and I had a disagreement that ended up in an evil text war yesterday.  The fight, I am sure was predicated on my hormonal behavior- but it’s like he forgets I am a ball of hormones and doesn’t cut me enough slack or rather is overly temperamental or more so a mixture of both.   I have become a cry baby and find myself reduced to tears form the stupidest things.   I seriously have to have little talks with myself to try to keep it in perspective.   So after an emotionally draining day I like a little time in the evening for my guilty pleasure – reality TV.  This is not a fact that I am proud of but it just makes for some plain old good entertainment.  As PL I am particularly interested in shows with other PL’s so that I can get a sense for what they are going through.  Hence, Bethenny Getting Married is definitely in my Tivo.   While I sometimes find her annoying, I have a small crush on her husband and overall find their experiences pretty funny and relatable.  What a doll and Jason is so supportive.  I mean it is kind of brilliant to get pregnant in your newlywed phase just for that level of support!  So last night she took her honeymoon seven months prego and while I applaud her “putting it all out there” it also was a little scary to watch.   I am so not looking forward to cankles and swollen feet!  Loved the food crawl and am definitely putting that into my pregnancy agenda but the giant stomach with hairline forget about it! That is going to be me just in time for the holidays- oh Joy!

For now it is just me and the little lime (my baby’s current size)!  I don’t think my stomach knows what it is doing most of the time I look bloated but every so often I have a random day where I actually feel uncow like.  I try to embrace these days but they are fewer and fewer, much like my wardrobe choices.  So this is where my night gets really frightening, after my reality fix I want to bed like any other night.   Only to be woken up at 4:30 am by a man in my house saying “Chicago Police”.  Hubby woke up screaming at the top of his lungs (secretly the thought of that makes me chuckle for some reason) and my Berner started barking like crazy.  The man kept yelling out Chicago police and asking us to come downstairs.  We had no idea if this was some sort of trap or what the hell was going on.  I called 911 and I think my Berner scared him out of the house.  He went around to the front of the house and rang the doorbell and hubby went down.  Talk about being scared out of your mind!  911 couldn’t explain to me why he was in my house but said that it was a real police officer.   I mean what the hell?  I didn’t know what to think.  A million scenarios were going through my head and I was so scared for the baby! As it turns out they had picked up some thugs on our block that had stolen gps’s etc.   They thought they were form our garage (detached), so when the officer came to check it out he found that our back door (that we never use) was unlocked and came in to make sure no one had entered the house.  Crazy!   He did a walk through with hubby to check things out and the whole fiasco never ended until 5:30.

Obviously we were so spun up that I don’t think I really feel asleep until 7 only to get up a few minutes later to go to work.   The worst part was that I started to have some cramping.   I never know when to be concerned with cramping.   There were a few sharp pains but they were like 20 minutes apart and painful but not severe.   Please don’t hate me for this but I have never had menstrual cramps so I really have no point of reference to deal with these on.   I have no idea what a severe cramp is or a regular cramp- the only cramps I know are the ones I have now.   I didn’t have any spotting; it was sporadic and didn’t last long so I didn’t call the doctor.  Hopefully there are no worries but I wonder if this level of stress is what caused it.   I am sure this will also add a few more pimples to my forehead- super! Needless to say I am absolutely exhausted today and looking forward to a night at home relaxing.  So a few thoughts on the burglars and some safety obsessions going forward:  new obsession- checking all dead bolts prior to going to bed and possibly even sleeping with the alarm on.  Next obsession: locking the car doors while it is in the garage.   We don’t keep anything valuable in the car and gps is in the dash but at least if someone is trying to break in the car alarm will go off and it will be a good starting point deterrent.  Final obsession:   Where I can get a taser?  Preferably one with some bling on it.  Am I not the only one who has secretly wanted one since seeing the hangover?  Would it be wrong to put one on my baby registry?

 

Leave a Reply

