What to Expect When You are Not Expecting

My adventure of getting pregnant over 35 starting with clomid

I think I would rather look like a tranny! August 9, 2010

It has been a crazy few days….I feel like I have a lot to report! As you know I was feeling really good mid week last week so I decided to kick it up a notch and give the pre-natal workout a whirl. I tried the Summer Sanders workout and let me just first put it out there that I officially have a girl crush on her. She is so my pregnant hero. Since I have been a couch potato for the last few months I decided to start out easy with “express” workout- thank god because I am not going to lie it definitely kicked my butt a little and I for sure would have died doing the full length. The DVD has workouts for every stage of your pregnancy and Summer is AWESOME- funny and not at all annoying. Plus she is like way prego in the video and really kicking it so she it is very motivating. The only negative I would say is that it’s not really clear what equipment you will need at the beginning of the workout so be sure to read the back and have everything on hand. I was so excited that I actually managed a work out I almost cried tears of joy! I was sore for a few days afterward, but it in a very good way! As if not to make my week better, the next day I went shopping and actually found a couple of outfits that I felt good about. Granted I think I hit every major department store on Michigan Avenue and every boutique on Southport Corridor to accomplish this- but I prevailed! Score! Can I just take a moment to discuss fitting room lighting? I swear it’s like they are trying to convince you not to buy anything because I feel like I look so much worse in fitting rooms then in my home. Nordstroms if you can hear me please let me look better in your dressing room!  Anyway, I digress. So I picked up a couple of C-U-T-E dresses and now don’t need to panic the next time I have to go somewhere. Love. Additionally I think these options may make it into fall because they are pretty versatile.

After a week of so much success my amazing pregnancy decided to reward me with the worst headache ever Friday night. It was horrible! I tried everything to get rid of it naturally- water, warm compress, shower, you name it and nothing helped. This wonderful headache decided to take a liking to me and lasted the rest of the weekend. Since I am chemical/pill adverse I didn’t take anything for it. My doctor told me a little bit of Tylenol is ok but I am too nervous to take it. I read that headaches were common in the first tri- but not so much in the second. Does anyone know of a cure for the pregnancy headache? Since I am a glutton for punishment I decided on Saturday, headache still lingering, that it was time to lose the mustache and get my eyebrows done- finally. Girls- OMG did it hurt. I seriously think my upper lip still hurts today. Holy mother of god- that was way worse than I expected. I would not recommend it and am not really sure that it was worth it. I have had this done before but it has never felt like this. I think I would rather look like a tranny then go through that again! It was seriously tingling for days. I couldn’t even enjoy my mani-pedi afterward because my face was throbbing. I also am sure that my red face may have frightened a few people including the little girl that was there with her mother. Just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse, she started screaming at the top of her lungs. I thought my head was literally going to explode. I have to ask a difficult question here. Is it really necessary to take your kids to the salon? In the case of the single mother- I totally get it, but I overheard this woman say that she was going to take the girl to home to daddy if she didn’t stop crying. It’s not that I blame the girl for crying either- I wanted to cry- it smells like chemicals in there and is crowded without any activities for children. Is this something I should know…do kids enjoy watching mommy get her nails done? I am going to put this out there and am recognizing the fact that I could very well be eating my own words at some point and will happily admit if I am wrong but if I can’t leave the kids at home I don’t think I should taking them with to get a manicure. Are mother’s out there screaming at me right now? I think the salon is a place to go to relax and get pampered and not a fun place for the little ones. Am I wrong? Tell me I can take it. I have seen this happen so many times at the salon and really want to know – should I just shut the hell up? Will this be me in a couple of years?

 

One Response to “I think I would rather look like a tranny!”

  1. Glad you had fun shopping. I tried that, I ended up getting clothes for my son instead. I also get headaches, I think it’s the heat. I take Tylenol (normally ibuprofin, but that’s a no-no during pregnancy) but since you’re pill adverse try laying down with a cold rag on your head. That usually does the trick for me. As for the little girl in the salon, the mom should’ve left her home with Daddy. I wouldn’t take my kids to a place like that, it’s so not child-friendly. And it can’t be good for them to breathe in all those chemicals. If I didn’t have anyone to watch them then I just wouldn’t go, where ever it is. I’m a mom, and I get annoyed when other people bring their kids places they probably shouldn’t be.


Leave a Reply

