What to Expect When You are Not Expecting

My adventure of getting pregnant over 35 starting with clomid

Guilty Pleasures August 24, 2010

What can I say this has been one of the best weekends I have had in this pregnancy!  I am simply amazed!  I actually got up on Saturday and went in to the office for a bit and then stepped out and did some shopping on Michigan Avenue.  It was amazing!  I got a great walk in and got to visit my favorite stores for a little fall fashion inspiration.  I am excited for my fall pregnancy wear!  I am still waiting for my bump though….why must I still just look like a chunky monkey?   I just look thick and not pregnant and feel compelled to tell all the sales girls that I am 4 months preggers so they don’t think I am hefty hefty hefty!  After running around downtown, I went home and rested for a few hours then…wait for it….I actually went out to dinner with my hubby for a date.   It was fabulous despite the fact that the restaurant I really wanted to go to- Chicago Pizza and Oven Grinder- had an hour and a half wait so we had to go to a second string choice Rose Angelis.  As much as I wanted to I don’t have the luxury of waiting for food anymore.   This used to be just fine with me.  I could sit in the bar and enjoy a cocktail which would tide me over until dinner.  Unfortunately this is no longer an option- an hour difference in my feeding time could be detrimental so we went elsewhere and had a good time and a good al fresco meal.  It was just lovely.   Of course I was exhausted by the time I got home and went straight to bed.   Only to wake up the next morning and have another good day who am I?   I couldn’t even believe it.   I actually got to go to Trader Joes.  Secretly I enjoy grocery shopping when it isn’t crowded- since this is one of my household duties I pretend it is a labor of love for the family- but actually I don’t mind it at all.  I like to buy fun things and normally enjoy cooking.  I was almost giddy to actually be out and about again- I haven’t had a weekend like this in a long time.  As I was checking out the clerk asked me if I was doing anything fun that day and I was like-hello this is fun!  I think she felt bad for me- if she only knew.

I was so inspired that after I got home I actually prepared two meals for the week ahead.    Cleaned the kitchen and even sat outside on my rooftop deck for a bit for a little fun in the sun.  The weather was beautiful and it was glorious.  I did find that all this running around made my back hurt quite a bit- but I have dealt with that before.  I did a few stretches and it seemed to help so onward and upward.  Hubby came home and we had a healthy home cooked meal-finally!   A nice change from the take out we normally have and the Wendy’s I ate for dinner on Friday.  I kind of die for Wendy’s – always have.  It never sounds bad to me and I could pretty much eat it any time which is why it is now my go to meal when all else fails.  I seriously can’t turn it down.  A single with cheese  no mayo and fries- forget about it.  If it were in anyway nutritious I would have it daily.   Thank God there isn’t one in my office building.  Not so healthy I know but what am I to do sometimes- a girl’s got to eat!  Wendy’s is definitely my guilty pleasure- what are yours?

 

Leave a Reply

